Power Femme

How Do You Identify?:
Cinnamon spiced, caramel colored, power-femme
Preferred Pronoun?:
She
Relationship Status:
Married to a wonderful horse girl

Thanked 6,848 Times in 1,493 Posts
dreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputationdreadgeek Has the BEST Reputation
Member Photo Albums
Default Japanese reactor crisis

Okay, before I begin I want to make something clear. I'm NOT a nuclear engineer. I have never worked in a nuclear power plant. I considered being a nuclear power plant technician when I was contemplating joining the Navy and during that time I read everything I could get my hands on regarding nuke plants, how they work and various post-mortems on Three Mile Island. I have the understanding that, say, a decent science reporter might have. I understand the underlying physics pretty well and I'm following this unfolding event very closely.

My purpose in starting this thread and posting is NOT to show off. Rather, I know that *I* am concerned and I imagine other people are as well. To that end, I'm going to try to share what information and understanding I have. If you have a question, I will do my best to answer them.

It might be helpful to explain how nuclear power plants work and why TMI is the better model for what is happening than Chernobyl.

So...